Seven Point Meditation

There are millions of forms of meditation, and they often look similar. That is because there are basic elements when it comes to meditation posture.

Seven Point Meditation

The Seven Points of Vairocana is a Buddhist type of meditation. It uses the posture of the center of the mandala that represent the five principles of Buddha.

Buddha is thought to represent the wisdom of all the space, and he represents the idea that our ignorance can be changed into space and accommodates everything.

  • First Point: Sitting

This is when you sit cross-legged in the floor. This is a good time to try this and even if it is hard, you can do an easier cross-legged position. There are different variations of sitting cross-legged and the best way to do this is to have a meditation cushion so you can be more comfortable.

You can use the pillow from your couch or your bed as long as it is adjusted so you aren’t in pain when you’re sitting.

    • Quarter Lotus

You can sit on a meditation seat with your legs crossed and both feet resting below the opposite thigh. Sit loosely.

    • Half Lotus

In this position your legs are crossed with only one foot on the opposite thigh and the other foot can just fold under the top leg.

    • Full Lotus

Put your legs crossed with both feet resting on the opposite thigh.

    • Burmese

If you can’t cross your legs, try to just relax and put your feet laying on the floor.

    • Seiza

Don’t cross your legs but kneel and put a cushion between your legs. This keeps you propped up.

    • Using a Chair

You can use a chair if you need to, and you should never feel bad for doing this. When you sit in the chair put your back against it and sit with your feet on the floor.

You can even meditate laying down but if you are prone to falling asleep, we don’t recommend this method.

  • Second Point: Elongating the Spine

It is important that you stretch out your spine and that you have your spine like a stack of coins. This will help you to feel uplifted during meditation.

  • Third Point: Hands

You need to rest your hands on your lap and then you can put them at your sides if you get tired. Put them palms down on your thighs. This is an axis point where you can rest, and you can keep your spine upright and let the energy flow through you.

You ocan put your right hand on your left hand and touch your thumbs together as they rest in your lap. This allows you to have more energy and can help you to not feel sleepy. The left hand represents being smart and the right hand represents compassion.

  • Fourth Point: Shoulders

Let your shoulders and back relax. Push your shoulders back and this will open up your body.

  • Fifth Point: Chin

Tuck your chin in but not to the point where you’re looking at your lap but just a little tucked.

  • Sixth Point: Jaw

Relax the muscles in your face and put your tongue at the roof of your mouth. This can open up your breathing and swallowing.

  • Seventh Point: Eyes

Relax your eyes and focus just a couple feet in front of you. Don’t focus or pick out patterns to look at just have a loose and resting gaze. Doing this while you are meditating can help you to see who you are and set your intentions. You won’t fall asleep as easy if your eyes are open.

If you aren’t able to meditate and keep your eyes open, you can close your eyes but don’t fall asleep. It is best to pick one or the other and do and not go back and forth. Closed eyes meditation can cause you to have more thoughts and distraction for some people but if you need to meditate with your eyes closed it is okay.

Final Thoughts

Meditation needs to be done correctly and if you have the right posture then it will be easier for you to focus on your meditation and calming your mind than being uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply